From Tea Party Republican to the member of “The Middle Class Action Project”

By Ilya Galak

There are many important issues to debate. But without manufacturing our middle class is doomed. Restoring manufacturing became my passion. That is why I support Robert Holst for Congress.

An immigrant to this country from the former Soviet Union, I am an electrical engineer by profession and, with my wife, the owner a business that manufactures women’s fashions.

Ilya Galak

Ilya Galak

Before 2009 I wasn’t political. But in 2009, the words “labor movement” drove me to political activism, and not always in a constructive way.

Americans who never experienced the Soviet system surely can’t understand the negative connotations there.

I was invited to do a political magazine on Staten Island; a conservative borough of New York City.

Living a place filled with conservatives, including many other immigrants from the former USSR who are attracted to the Republican Party because of its strong stand against the Soviets in the 1980s, my American political journey began as a Tea Party Republican.

Eventually, after observing, reading, listening to people, my views changed. I realized our biggest problem is the relentless war on the middle class and the outsourcing of manufacturing jobs.

There are many important issues to debate. But without manufacturing our middle class is doomed. Restoring manufacturing became my passion.

I and others organized the “Make It in the USA” movement and I want to share our goals with people of Brooklyn and Staten Island.

That is why I support Robert Holst

2013. Robert Holst: "Don’t Outsource an American Icon. Rebuild the Verrazano Bridge with American Steel"

2013. Robert Holst: “Don’t Outsource an American Icon. Rebuild the Verrazano Bridge with American Steel”

Leave a Reply

